With the eBay shop fee changes due to take effect on the 1st of April, we’ve heard a number of sellers state that they’ll be closing their shop. There’s something you need to be aware of before you do this.
From the 1st of November 2016, eBay made the GTC listing format available to all business sellers. You can now list using the GTC listing format without the requirement to have an eBay shop.
There are many benefits to GTC, such as a longer item history, easier listings management and the out-of-stock option. This makes them much more attractive than short duration or 30 day listings.
The issue occurs when you create a GTC listing and then close your eBay shop. The GTC continues to run and renew every 30 days but it appears that you can no longer adjust quantities as you receive new deliveries or otherwise edit the listing. We’re not sure if this is by design or simply a bug, we suspect the later.
Laura says that if your eBay shop is reinstated within 30 days of closing, all the settings are reset and the GTC listings will once again be able to be revised, but not after that 30 day window.
If you are closing your eBay shop, you’ll either have to live with listings that you can’t edit, or end all your GTC listings and relist once your shop is closed, losing your sales history.
28/4/17 Edited to add: An update from Laura
A quick update on the situation of eBay not allowing GTC revisions if listings were created when you had a shop and have since closed it.
This issue was first raised back in March and at that time eBay commented that it was a problem and should not happen.
I’ve now heard back from eBay, who said: “The behaviour seen here is a hold out from a long ago decision in the UK made for another purpose but it is no longer relevant. Hence, we are addressing the problem and will have a change rolled out soon which will enable revision regardless of store subscription state. When we have a more specific date confirmed, I’ll report back.”
Forewarned is forearmed – there may be good reasons for closing a shop but there are risks involved, at least until eBay fixes this.