Clare Balding will judge for £20,000 Kindle Storyteller Awards

No primary category set

Amazon has today announced that Clare Balding, broadcaster and author of Fall Off, Get Back On, Keep Going, has joined the judging panel for the 2021 Kindle Storyteller Awards.

The literary prize, now in its fifth year, celebrates the best self-published story in the UK, with the winning author receiving a £20,000 prize fund and a marketing promotion for their title on, offering recognition and celebration for new and established writers.

If you’re a budding storyteller, you can enter the Kindle Storyteller competition for the chance to win the £20,000 prize. The Kindle Storyteller award is open to authors who publish their story via Kindle Direct Publishing between 1st May – 31st August 2021. Readers play a pivotal role in helping to choose the shortlist of five stories, with a panel of judges, including top figures from the world of publishing and Amazon Books, choosing a winning book based on a number of factors including originality, creativity of content, and the quality and style of writing.

Alongside Clare Balding on the judging panel for 2021 is 2020 Kindle Storyteller Awards winner Anna McNuff, best-selling self-published author Nicola May, author and Alliance of Independent Authors member, Sacha Black and Darren Hardy, Author and Editorial Programmes Manager at Amazon UK.

“It was a huge honour to have Llama Drama chosen as the winning book out of thousands of entries in 2020. I still can’t believe it happened! Being part of Kindle Storyteller was such an exciting adventure for me and I’m looking forward to seeing this year’s entries.

“I believe everyone is a storyteller, and the Kindle Storyteller Award can inspire both new and established authors around the world to take the plunge and publish their book.”
– Anna McNuff, Author & 2020 Kindle Storyteller Award winner


Sara Cox and Vick Hope to judge Amazon Kindle Storyteller Award

Sara Cox and Vick Hope to judge Amazon Kindle Storyteller Award

Last Chance: Enter Amazon Kindle Storyteller Award

Last Chance: Enter Amazon Kindle Storyteller Award


Rachel McLean Crowned Winner of the 2021 Kindle Storyteller Award


2021 Kindle Storyteller Award Shortlist


Great at white lies? Spin a yarn for Kindle Storyteller award

ChannelX Guide...

Featured in this article from the ChannelX Guide – companies that can help you grow and manage your business.


Take a look through a selection of the latest articles on ChannelX

Register for Newsletter

Receive 5 newsletters per week

Gain access to all research

Be notified of upcoming events and webinars