eBay appear to be continuing to retire accounts which haven’t been used for many years. I’ve just received one such email on an account I opened for a specific project and haven’t used since 2009.
The email reads “We noticed that you haven’t signed in to your eBay account for quite some time, and we’d like to invite you back to buy and sell again. eBay’s a great place to buy what you want, and sell what you have. Unfortunately, since you haven’t used your eBay account for a while, it will be deleted if you don’t sign in within 30 days from the day this email was sent. If you are not the account owner or the email address is no longer associated with this eBay account you do not need to contact us. We will delete this account in 30 days”.
This is good news for anyone who’s been sitting waiting for a particular eBay User Id that has been dormant for a number of years, it means it may one day become available for you to use. That’s how I got my eBay ID (my name ““).
Good luck if you’re waiting for a dormant eBay ID and don’t forget to check if it’s now available. However if you’ve got a dormant account that you’ve not logged into for a few years make sure you log in just to make sure you don’t lose the account – especially if it’s on an email address you no longer have access to as in that case you won’t get the 30 day reminder email!